

GWINNETT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION *Dr. Robert McClure*

Chairman District IV

Louise Radloff Vice Chairman District V

Carole Boyce District I

Dr. Mary Kay Murphy District III

Daniel D. Seckinger District II

J. Alvin Wilbanks CEO/Superintendent

THE MISSION OF GWINNETT COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS

is to pursue excellence in academic knowledge, skills, and behavior for each student, resulting in measured improvement against local, national, and world-class standards.

437 Old Peachtree Road, NW Suwanee, GA 30024-2978 678-301-6000

www.gwinnett.k12.ga.us

It is the policy of Gwinnett County Public Schools not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, or disability in any employment practice, educational program, or any other program, activity, or service.

2010 Winner of



NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 28, 2011

News Media Contact: Communication and Media Relations, 678-301-6020

25 Gwinnett teachers honored as 2012 TOTY semifinalists

In celebrating the professionals responsible for the high academic achievement of **Gwinnett County Public Schools** (GCPS) students, the district has taken its next step in finding the one educator who will be named the 2012 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year. The school system announced today the names of the 25 semifinalists to be considered for the system's top honor. The group of 14 elementary, five middle, and six high school teachers was selected from the initial list of 129 local school Teachers of the Year who were nominated by their colleagues at their local schools. The 2012 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year will be announced in November at the annual Teacher of the Year banquet.

This year's Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year semifinalists by level are:

Elementary Level:

- Mike Stanton of Bethesda Elementary-- 4th Grade Teacher
- **Nicole Kidwell** of Jenkins Elementary-- English to Speakers of Other Languages, Acceleration, and Transition Teacher (Grades 4 and 5) and Instructional Coach (Grades 1, 4-5)
- Brenda Jones of Lawrenceville Elementary-- Literacy Coach (Grades K-5)
- Theresa Wiist of Level Creek Elementary-- Special Education Teacher Autism (Grades 3-5)
- Kristen Gadd Williams of Mountain Park Elementary-- Kindergarten Teacher
- Brittany Palazzo of Mulberry Elementary-- 3rd Grade Teacher
- Allison Askew of Patrick Elementary-- 5th Grade Teacher
- Cathy Clements Kreimer of Peachtree Elementary-- 5th Grade Teacher
- Jennifer Dunn of Pharr Elementary-- 5th Grade Teacher
- Angie Hoffman of Puckett's Mill Elementary-- 5th Grade Teacher Language Arts
- Julie Hipple of Riverside Elementary-- Special Education Teacher Severe and Profound Intellectual Disabilities (Grades K-5)
- Christa Ulbrandt Webb of Rock Springs Elementary-- 4th Grade Teacher
- Mary Butler of Rockbridge Elementary-- Special Education Teacher -Moderate Autism (Grades K-2)
- Candace Swords of Shiloh Elementary-- 1st Grade Teacher

--more--

Middle School Level:

- **Dr. Jennifer Jankauskas** of Creekland Middle-- Language Arts Teacher (Grade 8)
- Keri Beth Tidmore Jones of Dacula Middle-- Computer Science and Yearbook Teacher (Grades 6-8)
- Janelle Wilson of Lanier Middle-- Science Teacher (Grade 6)
- Lou Reynolds of McConnell Middle-- Mathematics Teacher (Grade 8)
- Sarah Black of North Gwinnett Middle-- Orchestra Teacher (Grades 6-8)

High School Level:

- **Tara Termes** of Collins Hill High-- Biology and Forensic Science Teacher (Grades 9-12)
- Jeff Burmester of Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology-- AP Physics Teacher (Grades 11-12)
- Aundrea Muth of Mill Creek High-- Political Systems and AP Government Teacher (Grade 12)
- Logan M. Flint of Monarch School-- Special Education Teacher Autism (ADAPT)
- **Jim Stewart** of North Gwinnett High-- Media Specialist and Local School Technology Coordinator (Grades 9-12)
- Lindsey Cafarella of Peachtree Ridge High-- World History Teacher (Grade 10)

A selection committee— made up of teachers, central office personnel, and administrators— will now consider the semifinalists' applications and answers to a set of additional questions in order to determine six finalists. Committee members will then make site visits to the classrooms of the six finalists and conduct thorough interviews with each educator.

During the classroom visit, the committee members will look for original teaching methods, study the teacher's teaching philosophy, review special class projects the teacher has initiated, and consider the influence the teacher has had on the teaching practices of his/her colleagues. They also will review each teacher's educational degrees and civic activities.

Based on their findings, committee members will select an elementary, middle, and a high school Teacher of the Year from the field of six finalists. They will be announced during the banquet. One of these three "level winners" will be named Gwinnett's 2012 Teacher of the Year.

--more--

The annual Teacher of the Year banquet will be held Thursday, November 3, 2011, at the Gwinnett Center in Duluth. The celebration is possible thanks to the support of several area companies. Those sponsors include Atlanta Coca-Cola Bottling Company; Balfour; Emtec; Georgia Power; Gwinnett Federal Credit Union; Gwinnett County Public Schools Foundation Fund, Inc.; Hayes Chrysler Dodge Jeep; Herff Jones; IBM; Lifetouch; MedCom; Mellon Global Securities Services; J. Smith Lanier and VALIC.

Once named, the 2012 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year will compete to become Georgia's Teacher of the Year.

--30--